Theft of honor sets out again | News, Sports, Jobs



– Archive photo of the messenger by Bill Shea

Iowa veterans who took part in the Brushy Creek area honor flight on August 28 are greeted by supporters waving flags and applauding at Dulles International Airport in Virginia.

The Brushy Creek Area Honor Flight will continue to take area veterans to Washington, DC next year.

The trips are scheduled for May 7 and August 27, Honor Flights executives revealed on Tuesday.

These will be the 21st and 22nd flights since the start of the effort in 2010.

“Recently, on August 28, Brushy Creek Area Honor Flight successfully completed its 20th flight to Washington, DC”, said Ron Newsum, Chairman of the Board of Honor Flight. “There are many people and organizations responsible for the success of the flight. It is impossible to thank all these important factions for fear of leaving out certain companies or organizations. A big thank you to all.”

Honor flights take veterans to Washington, DC, to see the nation’s war memorials.

Each trip begins early in the morning at the Fort Dodge Regional Airport. A chartered jet takes the veterans to Dulles International Airport in suburban Washington, Virginia. There they board buses to see WWII Memorial, Vietnam Veterans Memorial, Korean War Veterans Memorial, Navy Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery and the Air Force Memorial. The group returns to Fort Dodge late at night.

Every veteran flies for free.

“Veterans cannot pay for their flight because they have already paid their dues”, Newsum said.

He said the focus is on Korean and Vietnam War veterans. The remaining seats will go to those who served between World War II and the Korean War and those who served between the Korean and Vietnam Wars.

Veterans with serious medical conditions will be given top priority.

To embark

To obtain a seat request for the next Brushy Creek Area Honor Flight Honor Trips, contact the local Veterans Affairs office or a member of the Honor Flight Board of Directors.

The Honor Flight board members are Lee Bailey, Peg Dettmann, Russ Naden, Julie Reid, Charlie Walker, Orene Cressler, Craig Malloy, Ron Newsum, Mel Schroeder and Marlene Welander.

The latest news today and more in your inbox



Comments are closed.